How Your Brain Corrupts Everything

Lifehacker recently linked to this old article on how cognitive biases are used to influence people’s shopping choices: www.lifehacker.com.au/2012/12/how-your-brain-corrupts-your-shopping-choices/
I’ve found this particularly interesting to read in light of a different type of shopping I’m currently doing: job shopping.
My work has asked everyone in my organisation to (re)apply for the jobs that will be available after our restructure. For my level this is a great opportunity to look at the type of work we want to do. At higher levels, it’s lead to job cuts, with the knowledge of more to come.
This article has me questioning the decisions I’ve made so far: was confirmation bias pointing me towards familiar work? Is anchoring affecting my perception of what’s on offer? I’ve got chats lined up with a lot of the people I’d like to work for, but I’ll definitely be looking at that job list again tomorrow to see if there’s work there that I’ve been too quick to dismiss.

One thought on “How Your Brain Corrupts Everything

  1. Jack says:

    It’s easier to do jobs well that you’ve become skilled at especially if enjoy them. To run around putting out fires is stressful but does force the pace, and who knows eventually you could become a very skilled fire-person/fireman? but leaping off cliffs takes a certain “devil may care” attitude. As we get older we can better gauge our unknown areas and better appraise the potential of new job positions. Also some organisations allow transfers so a bad unworkable job work load can be resolved internally which is much more comfortable than forced resignation.

Leave a Reply

