Comics: where to start?

I’ve been reading books since forever. I love nothing more than a morning with a coffee, a big book and nothing else to do. I’m now realising that while there are many, many reasons that this is a great thing, it makes it hard for me to get into other media, like comic books.

I’ve tried reading comics a few times. Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series was a fantastic start, and I’ll happily vanish the tiny stories picked up on Free Comic Book Day each May. But the comics I’ve borrowed from friends haven’t been much help – the Fantastic 4 was particularly brainless – and buying something that will suit my taste is tricky. Comixology store doesn’t make sense to me the way Google Books does, and I can wander the local comic book shop cluelessly for hours.

Today I’m regrouping to try reading comics again. The AV Club website has an article on the great strides in comic book diversity that have been taken over the last few decades, and they drop a lot of names. The recent Ms Marvel books, while teen-focused, look appealing, and Watson and Holmes seems like it’s right down my alley (in a punnish way, from what I’ve read).

So here’s hoping this attempt to read comic books turns up some gold. I don’t expect anything could supplant my reading habit, but I’d be glad to have comic books there to add some more colour. And of course, let me know if you have any suggestions.

Leave a Reply

